St. Vincent is set to induct their fourth Hall of Fame Class next month. Past inductees will be joined this year by one coach, two athletes, one volunteer, and one team. 

The lone coach being inducted this year is Max Hamilton. He coached the Indians from 1950-1959 and had a combined record of 46-39-2. His tenure produced a pair of undefeated teams in 1952 and 1955, both of which won the coveted Catholic League title. Hamilton was a tough coach known for his hard-nosed attitude and strict discipline.    

One of Hamilton’s teams, the 1952 version, has already been inducted into the schools Hall of Fame and another one will follow this year. The 1955 team went 7-0-1 under Hamilton’s direction. The only blemish on an otherwise perfect record was a 13-13 tie to Valle Catholic in Week 2. The tie was partly due to a couple of turnovers and offside calls as described by media outlets.

The team had several notable stars that season as Ken Cissell was selected as “Back of the Year.” Cissell also won the Bob Smith Award given by the Lions Club to the most Outstanding player of the year. Calvin Bey was selected as the Lineman of the Year, while Cissell, Bey, Leroy Elder and Billy Moore were named to the Catholic League all-star team. Lee Prost and Stanley Schweiss were named all-star honorable mentions that season as well.

Jonathan Wengert and Cindy Huber-Stucker were each named as athletes to this year’s class. Wengert graduated From St. Vincent in 1998, but not before putting together an impressive resume.

Wengert was named the  co-athlete of the year in 1996, before claiming the award all by himself in 1997. He was named to the KJFF Dream Team in football, basketball and baseball his senior year. Wengert was a two-time all district and all conference player in basketball and baseball, but football was Wengert’s forte. He was a two-time all-state selection for his time on the gridiron as an Indian, and was named all conference and all-district on three separate occasions. Wengert parlayed his success on the baseball field into stints at St. Louis Community College, and Missouri Southern University.

After graduating from St. Vincent, Wengert went into teaching, where he still is today as he entered his 17th year in education this fall.

Huber-Stucker was a 1979 graduate of St. Vincent, was a dynamite player during her days as an Indian. So well that she was named the Athlete of the Year in both 1978 and 1979. While she played many different sports growing up, Huber-Stucker was very passionate about basketball. St. Vincent however did not have a girls’ program until her junior year. However, she parlayed her success at St. Vincent into a scholarship to Meramec Community College  where she played volleyball, basketball, and softball. After her time at Meramac, Huber-Stucker received a full scholarship to the University of Mississippi, where she received the Most Improved player and Best Effort Awards both years she played at Ole Miss.

The lone volunteer on this year’s list of selections is Kathy Robinson. She has been a big part in running the concession stand at St. Vincent football games. Robinson was also a volunteer cheerleading coach. She has also been active in the St. Vincent Alumni Association, never missing a meeting despite no longer being an officer on the committee.  

The induction ceremony will be September 14 at the Elks Lodge at 6 p.m. The public is invited to attend and the cost is $20 to be paid at the door.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.